Change Your World

5 Mar

By Nicole Deaconphoto

Our new tag line at Bikram Yoga AZ is CHANGE YOUR WORLD! We believe in Gandhi’s message… “be the change you wish to see.” When you make changes in your life there is a ripple effect that goes out. You feel better, you treat people better, they feel better, they treat people better and on and on this cycle goes. There are so many things that go on that we have no control over, but we do have control over ourselves. As we change… the whole world can start to change.

Here are 5 ways that doing this yoga can CHANGE YOUR WORLD:

5. Meet Great People… You may even fall in love! — There is an amazing community of people who do this yoga. By practicing and being around the studios you meet a variety of different people who are absolutely inspiring and incredible to be around. You meet people from all over the world and from all walks of life. We’ve had more than a couple of weddings happen from yoga studio romance. Maybe you are next. 🙂

change world

4. Do the things you love!  — Whether you love sewing, rugby, running or tennis… this yoga allows you to do the things that can be hard on your body.  We recently had someone with such bad arthritis they couldn’t do the thing they loved, sewing… but after just one class could do the thing they loved again!  We have many athletes from all sports that can continue doing the thing they love even though it is hard on their body.  What do you love to do?  This yoga can keep you doing it even in to old old age!

3. Live Forever — okay, okay not forever. But when you practice yoga, you keep your body young. You heal old injuries, prevent diseases, gain strength, become more flexible, have less stress, and overall just feel better. Click here for the article on how this yoga is the fountain of youth!

2. Belief in your self also known as Self-Confidence — you lose weight, tone up and start to feel great! But even beyond that… this yoga is challenging and the more you do it, the more you feel like you can do anything. By overcoming the challenges in the hot room you realize how much you can do on and off the mat.

1. Peace — When you practice yoga you start to develop a relationship with your self. You develop the power to connect within and external circumstances don’t bother you as much. You can be in any situation, around any person, and nothing can steal your peace away from you. How can we have a more peaceful world? It starts with us. We start with peace in our own heart and in our soul.

Has Bikram Yoga changed your world? Leave a comment and tell us how! We would love to know your story. 🙂

4 Responses to “Change Your World”

  1. Kay Harel March 5, 2014 at 8:52 pm #

    Very inspiring and so true, particularly about staying at peace no matter what.
    Can you provide the link for the article you refer to here: ” Click here for the article on how this yoga is the fountain of youth! ” Thanks! Namaste, Kay

    • Bikram Yoga AZ March 15, 2014 at 4:36 am #

      Kay – sorry for the missing link! It should be there and accessible now. Thank you for pointing it out!

  2. Aztreelvr Kassels March 14, 2014 at 6:05 pm #

    Yoga, specifically Bikram yoga has changed my life in countless ways . The simple concept alone of taking nearly two hours to focus on my well being each day had not occurred to me in over fifteen years until I stepped into the studio. Even when I would go to the gym years ago , my body would get a workout while my brain spun between mindless thoughts, at times going so far as to calculate how many reps per muscle until I would be done working out and driving home.

    With the yoga the physical release combined with the moving meditation allows my mind to slow down to the pace of my body and focus on one thing. Some days that in and of itself doesn’t happen very well. The humility in that is a good reminder for me not to take life too seriously. This is one of life’s lessons that I need constant reminding of. In the past few years while practicing Bikram yoga I lost my dog who was my closest companion, my best friend, and only my aunt who was my last relative from a generation previous to mine. I can honestly state I processed their deaths in a much healthier manner than when my mother passed away. In fact memories of my mom that I had forgotten for 26 years frequently pop up in the yoga room at the most inconvenient times. But through breathing I am able to accept them and move through them.

    I may not say it enough, if ever, but I am eternally grateful for what your studio has brought to my life.

    • Bikram Yoga AZ March 15, 2014 at 4:35 am #

      Wow, Meredith – thank you for sharing your personal and powerful story with us. We are so happy that you call BYAZ home and you are an integral part of what makes our yoga home so special! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Leave a Reply

